Skip To Content

Consent:  Consent is clearly communicating “Affirmative Yes” about sexual activity on your own terms. It can be  limited to certain acts and revoked at any time. 

Consent is:

  • Voluntary agreement to engage in sexual activity
  • Approval that can be withdrawn at any time

Consent  cannot be given if a person is:

  • Physically or mentally incapacitated due to alcohol or other drugs – this means if a person is drunk or high, they cannot   give consent to engage in sexual activity
  • Unconscious               
  • Asleep
  • Under the age of consent
  • Physically or mentally impaired


  5 Principles of Consent

    1. Privilege – Sex is never a right, it is a privilege.

    2. Permission – Since sexual contact is a privilege, you must have permission every time.

    3. Justification – There is never a good enough excuse to violate another’s boundaries.

    4. Intent – To ensure that sexual boundaries are not crossed, your intent must be to “First, do no harm.”

    5. Responsibility – You are entirely responsible for your own actions. Persons who experience sexual assault never bear the responsibility of harm caused by others.


Signs of Non-Consent

Verbal Refusal :  When someone  says “no” or “don’t do that” or “please stop” or “I don’t want to do this.”

Implied Verbal Refusal:   When someone says “I don’t think I want to go this fast” or “I’m not sure I want to do this.”

Physical Resistance:  Trying to get away,  freezing up, trying to leave, rolling over or away, pushing away, moving someone’s hands, trying to put clothes back on.

***If sexual activity continues after any of these indicators, a crime has been committed.***